BRAIN AND BEHAVIOR INSTITUTE 2003

Minisymposium I on K-16 collaborations


Bryn Mawr College K-12 Summer Institute Program
Wednesday, 16 July 2003

A Follow-up to an Earlier Institute Minisymposium and a PKAL Sponsored Symposium
and Prelude to Minisymposium II

(See Summary report on Minisymposia I and II)

OBJECTIVE:
To bring together K-12 and college/university educators to discuss ways that they can better work together to create optimal learning environments for all students at all levels of the the educational system, with particular reference to assuring effective education with science and mathematics.

BACKGROUND:
Though often regarded and treated as separate activities, K-12 and college/university/graduate education are fundamentally and intricately interdependent. Those engaged in college/university/graduate education are themselves the products of K-12 education and K-12 educators are in turn the products of college/university/graduate education. The reciprocal relationships make it hard to imagine meaningful educational innovation without effective exchange of ideas and aspirations between K-12 and college/university/graduate educators.

Given their professional experiences, together with their experiences both as undergraduates and as students in education and other graduate programs, K-12 educators have a particularly advantageous perspective from which to make suggestions about how to improve both K-12 and college/university education. At the same time, college/university/graduate faculty have distinctive perspectives and resources that can be beneficial to K-12 educators. What is needed is greater conversation between the two groups, predicated on the presumption that such exchange is very much in the best interests of both, as well as of more effective experiences at all levels of the educational system.

PROGRAM:

9:30 - 10:15K-12 teachers commenting on their experiences with the K-12 community, as students and as professionals (see on-line comments)
10:30 - 11:15College/university/graduate educators discussing existing programs to prepare and assist K-12 educators
11:30 - 12:15General discussion of plans to improve K-16 collaborations
12:15 - 1:00 Continued discussion and planning over lunch

ON-LINE FORUM FOR CONTINUING DISCUSSION

PARTICIPANTS:

K-12 Teachers in the Brain and Behavior Institute
RaMona M. Adams John P. Turner School RWarner@ucw.philly.rr.com
Pamela BurtonJohn P. Turner School  
John P. DaltonLincoln High Schooljd5258875@aol.com
Doris DanielsDimner Beeber Middle School 
Angela Griffin-GrantDimner Beeber Middle School 
Rochelle HerdanCCA Baldi Middle Schoolsunshine5r@aol.com
Randal HollyFitzSimons Middle Schoolkr092389@aol.com
Joyce Elizabeth Hubert-TheriotHenderson Senior High Schooljhuber-theriot@wcasd.k12.pa.us
Julie LeavittAMY Northwest Middle Schooljulieleavitt@comcast.net
Lois MackeyEdison/Fareira High Schoolloismackey@yahoo.com
Sheila MichaelGrover Washington Junior Middle Schoolsmichael@phila.k12,pa.us
Linda MiddlesworthAMY Northwest Middle School 
William SgrilloJohn P. Turner Middle Schoolwsgrill@hotmail.com
Antoinette Sisco SolimanDarby Township Elementary Schooltonisisco@aol.com
Linda SlatteryPenn High Schoollslattery@comcast.net
Geneva TolliferreoBenjamin Rush Middle Schoolgtolliferreo@phila.k12.pa.us
Regina ToscaniCentral East Middle Schoolreginatoscani@hotmail.com
Carolyn TysonJohn P. Turner Middle Schooljttyson@comcast.net
College/university/graduate faculty/students
Peter BrodfuehrerDept of Biology, Bryn Mawr Collegepbrodfue@brynmawr.edu
Lisa ChirlianDept of Chemistry, Bryn Mawr College, Cabrini Collegelchirlia@brynmawr.edu
Kathleen ConnWest Chester School Districtkconn@wcasd.k12.pa.us
Ellie EsmondCommunity Service Office, Bryn Mawreesmond@brynmawr.edu
Wil FranklinDepartment of Biology, Bryn Mawrwfrankli@brynmawr.edu
Paul GrobsteinBryn Mawr Collegepgrobste@brynmawr.edu
Alice LesnickBryn Mawr/Haverford Education Programalesnick@verizon.net
Michael NoelDept of Physics, Bryn Mawr College Programmnoel@brynmawr.edu
Trecia PottingerBryn Mawr College graduate
Jennie RickardDean of Admissions, Bryn Mawr Collegejrickard@brynmawr.edu
Flora ShepherdBryn Mawr College undergraduate
Jeff Tecosky-FeldmanDept of Math, Haverford Collegejtecosky@haverford.edu
Nia TurnerBryn Mawr Collegenturner@brynmawr.edu
Hannah WilhelmBryn Mawr College undergraduatehwilhelm@brynmawr.edu
Ca-Lishea WoodsCommunity Service Office, Bryn Mawrcwoods@brynmawr.edu
Annaliese ZimmermanBryn Mawr College undergraduateazimmerman@brynmawr.edu



| Forum | BBI 2003 Home Page | Summer Institutes | Serendip Home |

Send us your comments at Serendip

© by Serendip 1994- - Last Modified: Saturday, 02-Aug-2003 16:01:04 EDT